Jeanine Fourie
Co-Owner, Co-Founder and Clinical Director. No qualification or registration is published
leadership
White River,
A heritage manor on 21 hectares near the Kruger, selling European-standard treatment at South African prices, with the price list actually published.
White River Manor publishes a complete six-tier price ladder in four currencies on its own website, which almost nothing else in this ranking does. It is an executive treatment centre on a 21-hectare estate in the Mpumalanga lowveld, between the town of White River and the Kruger National Park: a heritage country manor in a century-old garden, converted in 2015 by two clinicians and a co-founder whose own experience of treatment abroad, as the clinic's website describes it, prompted the project. The commercial proposition is arbitrage: a five-star private suite, a multidisciplinary team and a 28-day programme for roughly a third of the equivalent European figure. Clinically it is a conventional multidisciplinary model combining twelve-step facilitation with CBT, DBT, EMDR, trauma work and equine therapy, delivered in groups as well as one to one, and it does not present itself as anything more private than that. Three things qualify the picture. Medical detoxification does not happen at the Manor. No clinician's professional registration is published anywhere, in a country where the psychologist title is protected. And the clinic names no regulator, licence or accreditation of any kind on its own site.
The clinic publishes a team index of fifteen names plus further profile pages, covering clinical, governance, residence and administrative roles. Fifteen of the published people hold a clinical or clinical-governance role. The team index shows no job title beside most names, and no psychiatrist appears on it.
Co-Owner, Co-Founder and Clinical Director. No qualification or registration is published
leadership
Clinical Manager, Clinical Psychologist and equine therapist. Over 20 years in clinical psychology and addiction. Registration number not published
psychology
Specialist Psychiatrist on the clinical team. Postgraduate specialist training in psychiatry; formerly head of forensic psychiatric services in the province. Registration number not published
medicine
Consulting General Practitioner with a stated special interest in psychiatry and addiction medicine. Also runs his own integrated medical practice. Registration number not published
medicine
Head Therapist and Resident Psychologist since 2016. Registration number not published
psychology
Consultant psychologist providing psychotherapy; counselling psychologist in private practice locally. Registration number not published
psychology
Counselling Psychologist and equine-assisted psychotherapist. Registration number not published
psychology
Social Worker and trauma specialist, registered since 1979. Registration number not published
psychology
Occupational Therapist, fifteen years in private settings. Registration number not published
therapies
Equine-Assisted Therapist, one-to-one and group sessions. No registration is stated
therapies
Music Therapist. Registration number not published
therapies
Addiction Therapist. No credential is published
therapies
Senior Professional Nurse. Registration number not published
nursing
Professional Nurse. Registration number not published
nursing
Facility and Programme Manager, registered counsellor with a psychology degree. Registration number not published
residence service team
Co-Owner, Co-Founder and Director. A non-clinical role
leadership
No professional registration number is published for anyone on the roster, in a country where the psychologist title is protected by statute. Twelve register lookups opened on 15 September 2026 could not be completed, so no credential here is confirmed and none is disproved.
28 days
From USD 17,050 to USD 47,300 by room category, excluding 15 percent VAT
The core product. A structured multidisciplinary month combining daily one-to-one sessions with therapists and group psychotherapy, CBT, DBT, EMDR, trauma-specific work, twelve-step facilitation, family involvement, equine, music and art therapy, fitness and nutrition, on a 21-hectare estate. The fee includes the therapeutic programme, the excursion package, on-site activities, meals, round-trip airport transfers, an individual development and treatment plan, the aftercare plan, laundry, turndown and Wi-Fi. The clinical programme is identical at every room tier; the price ladder buys space.
29 to 120 days
-
For chronic relapse, complex dual diagnosis and clients for whom a month proves not to be enough. The clinic states that individualised plans typically run 28 to 120 days depending on the client's needs, and positions longer stays as clinically preferable to the 28-day minimum. No price is published for any stay beyond 28 days.
Three to 14 days per the clinic's treatment page
-
Withdrawal management is not established at the Manor itself, and the clinic's own pages disagree on where it happens. The treatment page states that the detoxification process is monitored at a nearby specialist partner facility, which it does not name. The FAQ states that the clinic can now provide on-site detoxification through its clinical team at a related facility, which is a separate site at its own address with its own published bed count. A prospective client should establish in writing where withdrawal management takes place and who supervises it.
Within the residential stay
Within the residential rate
Concurrent treatment of substance use with depression, anxiety, PTSD, ADHD and mood presentations, with a psychiatric evaluation required on arrival and medication management alongside the core therapy schedule. Medications are stored securely and their effects monitored. The clinic describes a staff of psychiatric professionals and addiction therapists with specialised training in co-occurring disorders, without naming a programme for psychosis, bipolar I or severe personality disorder.
Alongside the stay, plus scheduled weekends through the year
Within the residential rate
Family therapy is offered on site and remotely, with visitors admitted during hours arranged in advance and clients encouraged to discuss visits with their therapist. Overnight stays by visitors are generally not permitted. The clinic hosts family weekends through the year for education and therapeutic workshops, and remote participation exists specifically for the international caseload.
-
Aftercare plan included in the residential fee; nothing further published
A personalised continuing-care plan is built during the stay and listed among the fee inclusions, and the team helps identify clinicians, psychiatrists, therapists and support services in the client's home community. An alumni network is maintained, with in-person groups currently hosted in London. No duration, format, delivery terms or provider is published for any of it, and psychiatric review after discharge appears only as something the plan may include.
| Programme | Price | Period | As of | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 28 days residential, Private Standard | USD 17,050 | stay (28 days) | Prices as of 2026-09-17 | |
| 28 days residential, Private Executive Villa | USD 20,900 | stay (28 days) | Prices as of 2026-09-17 | |
| 28 days residential, The VIP Suite | USD 23,650 | stay (28 days) | Prices as of 2026-09-17 | |
| 28 days residential, The Manor Suite | USD 36,465 | stay (28 days) | Prices as of 2026-09-17 | |
| 28 days residential, The Royal Suite | USD 40,150 | stay (28 days) | Prices as of 2026-09-17 | |
| 28 days residential, The Presidential Suite | USD 47,300 | stay (28 days) | Prices as of 2026-09-17 |
The clinic's independent review base is one platform, with a second rating base sitting on a directory that this ranking does not count. A Google Business Profile recorded on 8 September 2026 showed 4.6 out of 5 from 65 reviews, with the owner replying by name and substantively rather than with templated text, and it could not be re-captured with a citable address in the October pass. No Trustpilot profile exists. The clinic's own testimonials page is its own material rather than testimony. There is a provenance problem, and it is a press problem rather than a review problem. A large share of what reads as international coverage is advertorial or press-release derived: several overseas placements and one item in an outlet's sponsored section, credited to an agency writer. That is marketing spend, not review manipulation, but it inflates the apparent independent footprint and is discounted here. The nearest thing to independent national reporting is a single item in a South African business outlet, which was not retrievable on re-check, so its byline, date and first-hand content could not be confirmed. One item counts against the clinic on commercial conduct rather than on reviews. Its own site publishes a numbered list of the top rehab centres in the country, authored by its own clinical manager, placing the clinic first, with no disclosure that the clinic publishes the ranking.
The clinic's independent review base is one platform, with a second rating base sitting on a directory that this ranking does not count. A Google Business Profile recorded on 8 September 2026 showed 4.6 out of 5 from 65 reviews, with the owner replying by name and substantively rather than with templated text, and it could not be re-captured with a citable address in the October pass. No Trustpilot profile exists. The clinic's own testimonials page is its own material rather than testimony. There is a provenance problem, and it is a press problem rather than a review problem. A large share of what reads as international coverage is advertorial or press-release derived: several overseas placements and one item in an outlet's sponsored section, credited to an agency writer. That is marketing spend, not review manipulation, but it inflates the apparent independent footprint and is discounted here. The nearest thing to independent national reporting is a single item in a South African business outlet, which was not retrievable on re-check, so its byline, date and first-hand content could not be confirmed. One item counts against the clinic on commercial conduct rather than on reviews. Its own site publishes a numbered list of the top rehab centres in the country, authored by its own clinical manager, placing the clinic first, with no disclosure that the clinic publishes the ranking.
No first-hand bylined reporting from inside the facility was found. The one item of national coverage in a South African business outlet was not retrievable on re-check, so its byline and date could not be confirmed. Several international placements are advertorial or press-release derived and are not counted as press, and one item sits in an outlet's sponsored section.
Best Luxury Rehab South Africa 2024, displayed on the home page, from a commercial awards publisher. A commercial award is not accreditation and is recorded rather than scored. A five-star rating from a commercial grading body appears only on a directory and could not be confirmed, and that body is not a statutory accreditor.
The strongest element of the offering. A converted heritage country manor on a 21-hectare estate at Plaston, near the town of White River, in a hundred-year-old garden with citrus orchards and pine forest, on the Mpumalanga lowveld escarpment near the Kruger National Park. Accommodation runs across six categories, from a 43.5 square metre Private Standard room to a 169.5 square metre Presidential Suite, and the clinic publishes the size of each. Every one of the six is private with an en suite bathroom and a private outdoor area. Standard features across the tiers include air conditioning and heating, Wi-Fi, a mini-fridge, a safe, daily housekeeping, laundry and evening turndown; the upper tiers add fireplaces, walled gardens, plunge pools and, at the top, a heated pool. Communal amenities include a swimming pool, a private gym, an on-site spa, a café and delicatessen, a full-service restaurant, a lobby and the gardens and trails themselves. One inconsistency on the clinic's own site should be settled before admission: the FAQ describes accommodation as ranging from shared rooms to private suites, while the accommodation page publishes six categories, all private. No independent property record or facility visit was found, and the clinic publishes no client capacity figure anywhere.
Hospitality-led rather than clinically engineered, and good at what it does. Professional chefs prepare fresh meals daily, included in the package and eaten around a communal table, at the on-site café and delicatessen or in the full-service restaurant, with an a la carte menu and options matched to the client's stated dietary requirements. The clinic states that it accommodates vegetarian, vegan and gluten-free diets. What is not evidenced: no nutritionist or dietitian is named anywhere on the clinic's own pages, and nutrition is not presented as clinical work. No nutrition assessment on admission, no method for building a plan, no monitoring during the stay and no food-safety certification is published, and no fine-dining or hotel-school credential is claimed. Communal dining here is a deliberate therapeutic choice rather than a constraint, and it is the opposite of a private-dining model.
shared setting
What is established: every priced accommodation category is private with an en suite bathroom and a private outdoor area, so single occupancy per room is real and published on the clinic's own accommodation page. The estate is 21 hectares of private land well outside any town, which makes the property itself hard to observe, and most clients are flown in from Europe, the United Kingdom and the Gulf specifically to be treated where nobody knows them. At the upper tiers a client can spend most of their non-programme time in a walled garden unobserved. This is not a no-contact model and the clinic does not claim it is. Group therapy is described as a cornerstone of treatment. Clients eat at a communal table, attend group psychotherapy, family therapy, twelve-step sessions, music and art therapy, and go on shared excursions, and family visitors are received on the estate during arranged hours. Clients meet each other every day, by design. What is not established: how many clients are in residence. The clinic publishes no capacity figure anywhere, and no register capacity was found, so the size of the cohort a client is exposed to cannot be checked. Nothing beyond statute is published either: no NDA policy, no staff confidentiality protocol, no arrival or departure separation and no device policy that protects other clients. Wi-Fi runs throughout the property. The FAQ states that personal information and treatment details are kept strictly confidential, which is a statement of the statutory position rather than a named mechanism.
Headline basis: Public evidenceThe headline number is the public score, not the extended score., LROAS 1.0.0, edition 2026-10-01
Public-evidence total: 37
The sum of the ten criterion scores, from 10 to 100, using evidence anyone can check, including the clinic's own pages as self-declared statements. For the licence element of C2 only, it can also use an authority ruling held in our sealed evidence room. It is the only number used for the rank.
ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: low. ProvisionalA check was still open when the edition closed, for example a register lookup or a video not yet received, or evidence under embargo.: C10.
The accommodation page lists six room categories, all private with en suite bathrooms, but the clinic's own FAQ states that accommodation ranges from shared rooms to private suites. Group therapy is described as a cornerstone of treatment, and clients meet daily in groups, communal dining and outings. With shared bedrooms offered on the clinic's own FAQ and group work core to the programme, the occupancy model is band 2. No confidentiality measure beyond statute is published. The shared-room conflict is a bedroom-sharing question, not a capacity contradiction, so no deduction applied.
ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: low
A written reply of the Minister of Social Development to National Assembly question 2025-W5150 (7 November 2025) lists White River Manor as a registered treatment centre with the date 23 January 2023, which meets the licence element as a social development registration; its category is not stated. A specialist psychiatrist and a consulting general practitioner are named, but no physician medical lead is published. Licence present with no physician lead is band 5. Higher bands need a physician lead; in addition, withdrawal care is at a separate facility, no 24-hour physician cover or escalation hospital is named, and the clinic is absent from COHSASA with no CARF or JCI accreditation found.
ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: high
Two assessment elements are met: all guests undergo a psychiatric evaluation on arrival, with a specialist psychiatrist named for the site, and medication is managed and monitored by named physicians. The admission phone consultation is not described as clinical and names no clinician. No laboratory panel, physical examination by a physician or written diagnostic formulation is published, which holds the clinic at band 4.
ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: medium
The clinic states that it provides daily one-to-one sessions with its therapists, which meets the count for band 5. No session length or daily hours figure is given, the clinical team is pooled across all clients, the group share of clinical hours is not established and no 24-hour clinical presence is stated, so no higher band applies. Stays range from 28 to 120 days on clinical need, so no fixed-package cap applies.
ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: medium
Three aftercare elements are met: a personalised written aftercare plan, its inclusion in the fee with ongoing counselling and support, and help identifying clinicians, psychiatrists and support services in the client's home community, plus alumni support. Psychiatric support after discharge is described only as something aftercare may include. No duration, same-team continuation, post-discharge psychiatric review or structured contact over six months is published, which holds the clinic at band 4.
ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: medium
A news page on the clinic's own domain titled 'The Top 12 Rehab Centres in South Africa', dated 14 June 2024 and authored by the clinic's clinical manager, numbers twelve centres and places the clinic first, with no disclosure that the clinic publishes it; it was live at capture on 15 September 2026, so it counts as current conduct. The home page shows a commercial award presented as an award, not as accreditation, and no AI-directed text was found. One positive signal is met: six specific 28-day prices from USD 17,050 to USD 47,300 with no negotiability statement. No referral-fee position or admissions decline policy is published. One violation with one positive signal gives band 3.
ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: low
Two transparency elements are met: fee inclusions (therapeutic programme, excursions, activities and meals, VAT excluded) and a statement of limits that detox is provided at a partner facility, which is band 3. One point is deducted because the clinic's own pages give different figures for the same 28-day fee: a live news page last reviewed 28 October 2024 states pricing from USD 7,950 against USD 17,050 on the accommodation page. The privacy policy names no legal entity, address, retention period or national regulator, and no payment or refund terms, ownership, complaints route or licence reference is published. Band 3 less 1 gives band 2.
ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: low
No final regulator, court or tribunal finding within 10 years was found. No inspection date or result for this centre was retrieved; the registration itself is not an inspection. The one item of national coverage in a business outlet could not be re-checked (HTTP 403), so no first-hand bylined reporting is established, and no Trustpilot profile exists, leaving no second independent review platform. The clinic states it was founded in 2015. This is the 'not published' band 5.
ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: low
C9 is the mean of a housing sub-band of 5 and a nutrition sub-band of 3, which gives 4. Housing meets four elements: gardens, trails and a private gym, named residence staff, a family visiting arrangement, and an emergency department distance of about 23 minutes by road to a public 24-hour hospital, computed from a town-level point for White River. Medications are stored securely, but no emergency equipment, staff training or risk assessment is published, and the registration record carries no address, so the pictured premises are not tied to a licensed address. Nutrition rests on dietary accommodation alone with no named nutrition professional.
ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: medium
The team index lists fifteen names, most without job titles and none with registration numbers. Twelve register lookups were opened on 15 September 2026 across the health professions, nursing and social service registers, but none confirmed a credential. Because the clinic's treatment-centre registration is on public record in the ministerial reply, nine health-professions credentials are provisionally credited at their claimed level; nursing and social service credentials are not. The resulting index falls in the band 3 range.
ProvisionalA check was still open when the edition closed, for example a register lookup or a video not yet received, or evidence under embargo.: Clinician register lookups for this criterion were still open at the edition cut-off (see known_gaps). The points count as assessed on the evidence available; the band may change when the lookups are completed, which is resolved in a later edition.
ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: medium
The clinic publishes a full price list on its own accommodation page, which is unusual in this market. A 28-day programme starts at USD 17,050, or EUR 15,950, GBP 13,310 and ZAR 103,950, in a Private Standard room, and rises through the Executive Villa, VIP Suite, Manor Suite and Royal Suite to USD 47,300, or EUR 43,450, GBP 36,300 and ZAR 307,285, for the Presidential Suite. Every figure excludes 15 percent value added tax. The ladder buys space, private gardens and plunge pools; the clinical programme is identical at every tier. Round-trip airport transfers, meals, the therapeutic programme, on-site activities, the excursion package and the aftercare plan are included. Payment, deposit, cancellation, refund and early-departure terms are not published, nor is a price for stays beyond 28 days, and insurance is not addressed anywhere on the site. One of the clinic's own older news pages still carries a much lower 28-day figure than the accommodation page, so take the accommodation page as current and get the figure in writing.
On a 21-hectare estate at Plaston, near the town of White River in Mpumalanga, on the lowveld escarpment between Mbombela and the Kruger National Park. It is a converted heritage country manor in a hundred-year-old garden with citrus orchards and pine forest. Kruger Mpumalanga International Airport is the recommended entry point and round-trip transfers are included in the fee, though the clinic's own pages give conflicting travel times to it. Private hospitals in Mbombela are the nearest acute facilities, and the clinic publishes neither a road travel time to an emergency department nor a transfer protocol or receiving hospital.
Executives, professionals and private clients from Europe, the United Kingdom and the Gulf who want multidisciplinary treatment at roughly a third of the European price, and who actively want to be treated a long way from home. It suits people comfortable in a group setting: this is a communal programme with group therapy as a stated cornerstone, communal dining and shared excursions. It is the wrong setting for anyone who requires no contact with other clients, and the wrong setting for high-acuity medical detoxification, which is not carried out at the Manor.
Admission begins with a confidential phone consultation in which the team assesses needs and discusses options. A psychiatric evaluation and a referral are stated admission requirements, and every client undergoes a psychiatric evaluation on arrival. Staff assist with flights, travel coordination and visa guidance, and round-trip transport between the centre and the nearest international airport is included. Where medically supervised withdrawal is needed it is completed first, and the clinic's own pages describe that as happening at a nearby partner facility. No waiting time is published, and the clinic publishes no capacity figure, so availability cannot be judged from public sources.
A personalised aftercare plan is built collaboratively during the stay and is listed among the fee inclusions, and the team helps identify clinicians, psychiatrists, therapists, recovery groups and other support services in the client's home community, which matters given a mostly international caseload. An alumni network is maintained, with in-person groups currently hosted in London. Against that, no aftercare duration is published, it is not stated whether the clinic's own team continues to deliver any of it, and psychiatric review and medication management after discharge appear only as things the plan may include. Family involvement runs during the stay through family therapy on site and remotely, plus family weekends through the year.