Fiona Yassin
Founder and International Clinical Director, registered psychotherapist and accredited clinical supervisor
leadership
Kuala Lumpur,
A residential programme for teenagers and young adults, not adults, where schooling, peer group and a 12-week minimum stay are the treatment rather than the compromise.
This is an adolescent and young-adult programme and it should not be read against the adult clinics that make up most of this ranking. The Wave runs a 12-week minimum residential admission in Greater Kuala Lumpur with education and therapeutic boarding attached, across three tiers: a Main House of 16 places over 20,000 square feet and four floors, a Transitions House of 6 secondary-care places, and 5 higher-level-of-care places, 27 in total. Alongside psychiatric care and trauma therapy it runs a dedicated adolescent eating-disorder programme, GCSE study, vocational and creative certifications, community service and a heavy adventure calendar. The model is deliberately collective: bedrooms are single or shared, group therapy and peer community are core, and community-service placements take clients outside the facility. The clinic publishes its weekly price, its capacity broken down by unit and a roster of roughly sixty people by function, which is unusually open. Against that, no Ministry of Health facility licence entry was found in the public Act 586 lists, no facility accreditation exists, no consultant psychiatrist is named on the public team page, and eleven of the fourteen clinical entries carry a first name only.
The clinic names roughly sixty people by function on its own team page, including support staff, which is unusually complete disclosure. The clinical and governance roster captured on 15 September 2026 runs to fourteen people.
Founder and International Clinical Director, registered psychotherapist and accredited clinical supervisor
leadership
Medical Director and Consultant Psychiatrist, Medical and Medico-legal. Published by first name only
medicine
Medical Lead, Main House, with an overnight on-call for The Pool House. Published by first name only
medicine
Family Medical Liaison Lead and Clinical Associate. Published by first name only
medicine
Director of Clinical Services, Main House. Published by first name only
psychology
Clinical Psychologist. Published by first name only
psychology
Clinical Associate. Published by first name only
psychology
Master Practitioner in Eating Disorders, therapist in training. Published by first name only
psychology
Music Therapist, MSc. Published by first name only
psychology
Psychotherapist and Eating Disorder Dietician, Eating Disorder Specialist Nutritionist, MSc in Eating Disorders and Nutrition. Published by first name only
nutrition
Psychiatric Nurse. Published by first name only
nursing
Nursing Assistant. Published by first name only
nursing
Global Ambassador and Consultant Psychotherapist, London
international experts
Family Connection and Parenting Expert, International Experts
international experts
Eleven of the fourteen clinical entries carry a first name only, so no register lookup is possible for them. No Malaysian Medical Council registration number is published for any physician, and no consultant psychiatrist is named on the team page although the intake pages refer to one.
Minimum 12 weeks, extendable if clinically appropriate
USD 6,000–6,500 per week
Sixteen places in single or shared en-suite rooms on a full-time schedule. Individual therapy, group work, family therapy, schooling, community service and the experience calendar are combined into one structured week rather than run as separate add-ons, which is the point of the model. No one-to-one session count or weekly hours figure is published.
Runs within the 12-week residential minimum
Within the residential rate
A dedicated adolescent eating-disorder programme with meal support, food and body groups, a DBT skills group, cooking work and a resident eating-disorder dietician. The clinic states the facility carries ECG machines and laboratories for around-the-clock monitoring, and that its five chefs are trained by The InsideOut Institute in the care of eating disorders. Anorexia, bulimia, binge eating and ARFID are treated in the same setting rather than referred out.
-
-
Five higher-level-of-care places for young people who need specific medical intervention, nutritional intervention or help managing erratic behaviour, with one-to-one care delivered in a separate house. The clinic states that in very limited circumstances a psychiatrist may decide that hospital admission is the most appropriate management, and that the Medical Director can apply for involuntary admission under the Mental Health Act 2001. No hospital is named as the escalation route.
Runs alongside residential care
Within the residential rate
Young people study while in the full therapeutic programme, with supported learning and personal tutors, alongside vocational placements, creative certifications and community-service projects. This is the feature the clinic leans on hardest and the direct expression of its founding premise that a young person should not lose a year of their life to treatment.
Minimum three months
USD 13,000 per month
Six places across the green from the Main House, run as structured steps towards independent living: weekly attendance, goal setting, one-to-one sessions, meal support, cooking, budgeting, shopping, personal tutors, psychiatrist and dietician appointments, and voluntary or internship placements with local organisations. The houses are managed overnight by recovery coaches with an on-call team accommodated close by.
-
-
Three dedicated family therapy suites on site, family weeks scheduled through the stay, reflective parenting work and sibling work. Weekly or monthly calls with school pastoral care teams run alongside, and the home therapy team is invited into the final family sessions in person or by video call.
-
Alumni group: four sessions free for residential graduates, then GBP 75 per session. Other prices not published
Step-down and remote support after discharge: a weekly 90-minute alumni process group, online psychiatry appointments where psychiatrists can prescribe, family groups, and an education consulting division that works to place young people back into school or university. Aftercare plans carry the clinic's final medical report with a medication summary. No defined aftercare duration or minimum is published.
The verifiable review base sits on a single independent platform. A Google Business Profile recorded on 8 September 2026 showed 4.5 out of 5 from 71 reviews, with the owner replying to reviews individually including critical ones, which is a meaningful authenticity signal. There is no Trustpilot profile, and a Yelp listing carries a superseded office address with photographs and no usable rating, which is recorded as a provenance problem rather than as testimony. One platform is not enough to corroborate in either direction. No sign of review manipulation was found. A blog publishing promotional posts about the clinic exists under a profile name matching a name the clinic lists in an operations role; clinic control is not established, so it is neither counted against the clinic nor treated as independent testimony.
The verifiable review base sits on a single independent platform. A Google Business Profile recorded on 8 September 2026 showed 4.5 out of 5 from 71 reviews, with the owner replying to reviews individually including critical ones, which is a meaningful authenticity signal. There is no Trustpilot profile, and a Yelp listing carries a superseded office address with photographs and no usable rating, which is recorded as a provenance problem rather than as testimony. One platform is not enough to corroborate in either direction. No sign of review manipulation was found. A blog publishing promotional posts about the clinic exists under a profile name matching a name the clinic lists in an operations role; clinic control is not established, so it is neither counted against the clinic nor treated as independent testimony.
The clinic maintains an In The Media page, but only one article is named on the accessible version, a United Kingdom lifestyle feature on talking to children about body image that quotes the clinic and does not describe the premises or the care. No tier-one hard-news coverage and no first-hand bylined reporting from inside the facility was found.
None published.
A single purpose-fitted Main House of over 20,000 square feet across four floors, described by the clinic as being in the most prestigious area of Greater Kuala Lumpur, roughly 20 minutes from Kuala Lumpur International Airport. Publishing the square footage at all puts the clinic in a small minority. Bedrooms are single or shared, all en-suite, set within manicured gardens with 360-degree panoramic terraces. On site: an indoor pool with sauna and spa, a gym, a dance and yoga studio, art rooms, a music room, a cookery studio, a basketball court, a library, a TV lounge, a sun deck, a rooftop cinema terrace, dining rooms, an organic kitchen garden and three family therapy suites. The Transitions House sits across the green. Security is 24-hour and uniformed, with CCTV in all areas and app-based entry for pre-cleared visitors. This is a well-equipped urban residence rather than an estate. The residential address is not published, and no independent visit to the premises by any journalist or inspector was found. The nearest emergency department and its travel time are not published, which for a programme holding acute self-harm and refeeding risk is a gap worth asking about.
Nutrition is treated as clinical work rather than catering. An eating-disorder specialist nutritionist with an MSc in Eating Disorders and Nutrition sits on the staff and meets each young person at the start of treatment for nutrition assessment and planning. The chef and dietician collaborate on individualised meal plans, snack menus are dietician-led, dining rooms are described as neutral and body-positive, and the clinic states a 3:3:3 approach to eating-disorder nutrition. Five chefs are trained by The InsideOut Institute in the care of eating disorders. Clients also learn to cook. Leith's Essential Cookery Skills courses run from six to 24 weeks, and an organic kitchen garden with Royal Horticultural Society courses supplies the kitchen. Against that, no fine-dining or hotel-group chef pedigree is published, no method for building the plan from laboratory data is described, no monitoring with plan adjustment during the stay is published, and hygiene and food-safety certification is not published.
shared setting
What is established: this is a collective model and the clinic does not present it as anything else. Clients live together in the Main House, bedrooms are single or shared so single occupancy is not guaranteed at room level, group therapy and a DBT skills group are core to the eating-disorder programme, and community-service placements take young people into local organisations outside the facility. A family whose primary requirement is that no other client ever sees their child should not be looking at this clinic. What is genuinely protective: the residential address is not published anywhere, the site describes it only as being in Greater Kuala Lumpur, and entry is controlled by 24-hour uniformed security, CCTV and app-based pre-clearance for visitors. Those are security measures rather than confidentiality measures toward other clients. The documentation gap: no NDA policy, no staff confidentiality protocol and no safeguarding policy is published on the clinic's site. For a facility working with young people, a published safeguarding policy is the baseline expectation in the markets it recruits from, and its absence from public view is a documentation gap rather than an allegation. A referring family should request the safeguarding policy, the confidentiality protocol and the staff vetting standard in writing before admission.
Headline basis: Public evidenceThe headline number is the public score, not the extended score., LROAS 1.0.0, edition 2026-10-01
Public-evidence total: 43
The sum of the ten criterion scores, from 10 to 100, using evidence anyone can check, including the clinic's own pages as self-declared statements. For the licence element of C2 only, it can also use an authority ruling held in our sealed evidence room. It is the only number used for the rank.
ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: low. ProvisionalA check was still open when the edition closed, for example a register lookup or a video not yet received, or evidence under embargo.: none.
The occupancy model is collective: the facilities page states suites are 'single or shared occupancies' with rooms allocated on clinical grounds and peer compatibility, dining and amenities are communal, and group therapy is core to the programme. Shared bedrooms plus core group work place the clinic in band 2. No sole-occupancy or no-contact arrangement is published, so no higher band applies. No capacity contradiction was found and no deduction applied.
ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: low
A Medical Director who is a Consultant Psychiatrist is named and psychiatric assessment is stated for this service, which supports band 4. No facility licence entry was found: the Ministry of Health list of private hospitals licensed under Act 586 has no Wave entry, and no public register for psychiatric facilities exists, so the licence element stays unmet rather than negative. 24-hour physician or psychiatrist cover is not established: the only profession-specific night statement is the Medical Lead's overnight on-call for The Pool House, and 'full medical and psychiatric teams on-site, 24-hours a day' can be met by nurses alone. No escalation hospital, on-site withdrawal location, facility accreditation or defined psychosis programme is published, which keeps the clinic below band 5.
ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: high
Assessment is two-step: an introductory call with a licensed therapist, then a clinical and medical assessment with the Consultant Psychiatrist before an offer. The medical services page states full medical and wellness screening at the start of treatment and at regular intervals, with laboratory testing through a partner pathology laboratory, and a final medical report is issued at discharge. Six elements are met including admission laboratory screening and a medical examination at the start of treatment with a physician named for the site, which gives band 8. A higher band is not reached because no written case formulation during the stay is published and the examiner at intake is not named as a physician.
ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: medium
Individual therapy is offered, with a DBT skills group and other groups, but no session count, one-to-one hours figure or group share of clinical hours is published, which is band 3. The clinical team is pooled across the houses and 24-hour clinical presence in the client's residence is not published; the 'teams on-site, 24-hours a day' statement does not state a clinician staying overnight in the residence. The 12-week minimum is clinically extendable, so no fixed-package cap applies.
ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: low
Aftercare consists of a written personalised plan before discharge, a handover to a local psychiatrist and partner therapists, step-down secondary care within the operator at USD 13,000 per month, medication follow-up with prescribing, and a weekly alumni group. Eight aftercare elements are met, which would support a higher band, but bands 7 and above require a stated aftercare duration or minimum, and the continuing-care page gives no duration, frequency or minimum. The score is held at band 6.
ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: medium
A sweep of the clinic's domain found no self-ranking page, no press logo without a matching article, no award presented as accreditation and no assistant-directed text; the In The Media page matches its single outlet logo to one article. Two positive signals are met: a specific all-inclusive residential price of USD 6,000 to 6,500 per week, and a statement that all admissions are clinically appropriate with selection on clinical grounds. No referral-fee position is published and the published involuntary-admission position means no voluntary-admission policy is credited, so the clinic sits at band 6.
ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: medium
Only one transparency element is met: fee inclusions are published, with secondary care listing possible extras for personal items, medication and medical appointments. The terms and conditions govern website use only and name the trade name without a registration number; no ownership, cancellation, refund or early-departure terms, complaints route, facility licence reference, inspection result or privacy retention period is published, and the privacy statement dates from 17 December 2018. One element gives band 2. Fee figures agree across pages, so no contradiction deduction applied.
ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: low
No final regulator, court or tribunal finding within 10 years was found and no allegation is recorded. No inspection record is publicly retrievable, there is no first-hand bylined reporting from inside the facility, and at most one independent review platform exists, with the Yelp listing at a superseded address and no usable rating. This is the 'not published' band 5.
ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: low
C9 is the mean of a housing sub-band of 5 and a nutrition sub-band of 7. Housing meets four elements, including amenities, 24-hour uniformed security with CCTV and pre-cleared visitor entry; the emergency department distance is not met because the only computed value (about 1.8 km to Prince Court Medical Centre) uses the administrative office in Jalan Ampang as origin, and the residential houses have no published address. No emergency equipment, medication or alcohol storage policy, or in-stay monitoring is published. Nutrition reaches band 7 through a named eating-disorder nutritionist whose plan the kitchen follows, but laboratory screening is not stated to be reviewed by the nutrition professional.
ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: medium
The roster is published but eleven of its fourteen clinical entries carry a first name only, so no register lookup is possible for them. Of the three full names, a Malaysian Medical Council MeRITS search returned no match for the named physician, and two credentials sit with membership bodies not on the Professional Standards Authority accredited-register list. No credential is verified, so the verified score is zero and the clinic is at band 1.
ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: high
The Wave publishes its prices, which very few clinics at this level do. Residential care at the Main House is USD 6,000 to USD 6,500 per week, stated as all-inclusive. Secondary care at the Transitions House is USD 13,000 per month with a three-month minimum. The minimum residential stay is twelve weeks and the admissions contract is invoiced for that full period on signature, so the weekly rate is committed for the whole twelve weeks at the point of signing. A deposit is held on account and either returned or deducted from the final invoice. No price is published for the Higher Level of Care tier, for family services or for outpatient work. The clinic states that all major insurance policies are accepted, though no insurer relationship is evidenced.
In Greater Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, roughly a 20-minute drive from Kuala Lumpur International Airport. The clinic does not publish the residential address and describes the setting only as the most prestigious area of Greater Kuala Lumpur. Its administrative office is at Level 4, Four Seasons Place, 145 Jalan Ampang, 50450 Kuala Lumpur, and it lists further contact offices in Dubai and London that handle enquiries rather than treatment. The setting is metropolitan rather than a landscape estate, with the activity calendar running out to the Malaysian coast, highlands and national parks.
Teenagers and young adults, and their families. It is built for the young person whose school, outpatient team or previous admission has not held them: eating disorders, complex trauma, emerging personality difficulties, self-harm, addiction and school refusal, with schooling and therapeutic boarding running alongside treatment. It is not an adult clinic and it is not a single-client clinic. Peer community, shared rooms and group work are part of the treatment rather than an artefact of it, so anyone who requires that no other client ever sees them should look elsewhere.
Step one is an introductory call with a licensed therapist or registered mental health practitioner. Step two is a clinical and medical assessment with the Consultant Psychiatrist or the Medical Director. A place offer with an admission date follows, then a deposit confirms the place and a final invoice for the minimum twelve-week stay follows the signed admissions contract. The clinic states that all admissions are clinically appropriate and that it selects the young people and families it believes have the greatest chance of using the support available, so an early conversation should not be treated as a secured place. No waiting time is published.
Step-down is built into the structure. The Transitions House provides six secondary-care places for supported independent living at USD 13,000 per month with a three-month minimum, with weekly attendance, goal setting, one-to-one sessions, meal support, budgeting and personal tutors. Aftercare plans are personalised and contain a final medical report with a medication summary, and the clinic offers prescription-writing services and online psychiatry appointments. Each plan typically includes sessions with a psychiatrist local to home together with therapy through an international partner, and the home therapy team is invited into the final family sessions. An alumni group runs weekly, with four sessions complimentary for residential graduates and further twelve-week semesters charged per session. No defined aftercare duration or minimum is published.