Dr. Laurenne See
Director, with responsibility for quality assurance; clinical psychology background
leadership
Byron Bay,
One client per leased residence across a portfolio of coastal and hinterland homes, with every element of the programme delivered one to one.
The Sanctuary Byron Bay treats one client per residence in leased luxury homes across Byron Bay, the Northern Rivers and into South East Queensland, with no group therapy and no shared facilities. Its own programme page is unambiguous: all elements of the programme are conducted one to one, just the client and their therapists, no groups.
A client arrives to a personal chef, an on-duty registered nurse and a client-services liaison, met in an unmarked vehicle and taken to a private residence whose address is not published. The day is built individually: medical review, psychotherapy, bodywork, acupuncture, personal training, yoga and nutrition, adjusted from staff observations. Unusually for this segment, the offer extends into concurrent physical illness, with internal medicine, dentistry, physiotherapy and post-operative recovery inside it.
What the clinic does not claim is one client at a time. It claims one-to-one delivery, single occupancy per residence and no client contact, and it advertises a portfolio of properties across two states. Total concurrent capacity is not published.
The gaps are in the record rather than the offer. There is no facility licence on any register located, no accreditation is claimed, no price is published, no registration number is given for any named clinician, and the entity named in the clinic's own privacy policy does not match the corporate register. The clinic publishes a named team of 24, which is transparent by the standards of this market, and roughly two thirds of that roster is complementary, lifestyle or administrative rather than clinical.
Twenty-four people are named on the team page with stated credentials, which is transparent by the standards of this market. No registration number is published for any of them. Of the 24, 17 hold a clinical, therapy or wellbeing role at this site, five hold non-clinical site roles and two are group-level executives.
Director, with responsibility for quality assurance; clinical psychology background
leadership
Clinical Director, providing clinical leadership; general practitioner
leadership
Senior Medical Doctor; general practitioner
clinical
Consultant Psychiatrist
clinical
Registered Nurse
clinical
Physiotherapist
clinical
Acupuncturist
clinical
Somatic Trauma and Addiction Counsellor, accredited social worker
clinical
Dentist
clinical
Yoga Instructor, psychology doctoral candidate
clinical
Chief Executive, The Sanctuary World (group level)
leadership
No registration number is published for any named person. On the national practitioner register the Director is confirmed as a psychologist, and the Senior Medical Doctor and the Consultant Psychiatrist as medical practitioners, with no specialist registration shown.
-
-
Medically supervised withdrawal in a private residence, with registered nursing, medical observations and a doctor consultation establishing a clinical care plan on the first day. The clinic states that experienced doctors and nursing staff are available around the clock during this programme. There is no on-site medical facility; the doctor attends the residence.
-
-
Individual psychotherapy integrated with bodywork, acupuncture, personal training, yoga and nutrition, delivered one to one in the client's own residence. No groups, no twelve-step meetings on site and no other clients.
-
-
One-to-one psychotherapy with psychiatric review, combined with the physical and complementary programme, exercise physiology and a structured daily routine, delivered in a private home.
-
-
Built around a working schedule: the clinic states that any proposed programme is tailored to fit the client's particular schedule. Aimed at senior executives who cannot disappear for weeks and need burnout, substance or health issues handled without a visible absence.
-
-
Internal medicine, gastroenterology, dermatology, ophthalmology, dentistry, optometry, dietetics and exercise physiology alongside psychiatric care, for clients with concurrent physical illness or surgical recovery. The clinic states it reviews conditions across neurological, cardiac, pulmonary, renal, gastrointestinal and endocrine systems, and that it is not suitable for anyone requiring hospitalisation or in an acute phase.
-
-
Combined medical, physiotherapy, exercise physiology, nutrition and psychotherapeutic work on pain and medication dependence.
-
-
A service for families seeking to bring a reluctant member into treatment, with staff support for packing, travel arrangements and travel companions on the journey in. The clinic describes obtaining the client's consent to discuss their needs.
-
-
Recovery coaching by telephone for as long as the client requires, regular conference calls with the clinic's therapists, referrals to local practitioners and an aftercare support person who can accompany the client home. Remote case review and online psychological programmes are available through the parent group.
No public price found.
There is almost no review record to assess. The clinic's business profile carried 3.7 out of 5 from three reviews when it was captured on 8 September 2026, and a commercial directory mirrors the same three. No Trustpilot profile was found. One of those three reviews is almost certainly misattributed. It describes a stay at a differently named Northern New South Wales facility, with group work and a relationship between two clients discussed in a group, which is incompatible with a model that runs no groups at all. It sits on the live listing and drags the rating, and it should not be read as evidence about this programme. The other two carry no text. The only substantive independent review was published on 19 May 2015. It carries no byline and was compiled from alumni surveys and desk research rather than a first-hand visit, so it is not treated as first-hand reporting. It reported a monthly price, described staff as top-notch, recorded near-90 percent of recent alumni rating treatment quality highly and 85 percent rating the food 5 out of 5, and criticised charges for incidentals down to small sums, a doctor on call rather than on site, internet restricted to a two-hour evening window, and no coffee. No manipulation was detected, but the corpus is too small to assess. Three reviews, one of them probably about a different organisation, is effectively no review record at all. That is consistent with extreme discretion. It is equally consistent with low throughput. No litigation, regulatory action, fine or licence restriction was found against the operating entity.
There is almost no review record to assess. The clinic's business profile carried 3.7 out of 5 from three reviews when it was captured on 8 September 2026, and a commercial directory mirrors the same three. No Trustpilot profile was found. One of those three reviews is almost certainly misattributed. It describes a stay at a differently named Northern New South Wales facility, with group work and a relationship between two clients discussed in a group, which is incompatible with a model that runs no groups at all. It sits on the live listing and drags the rating, and it should not be read as evidence about this programme. The other two carry no text. The only substantive independent review was published on 19 May 2015. It carries no byline and was compiled from alumni surveys and desk research rather than a first-hand visit, so it is not treated as first-hand reporting. It reported a monthly price, described staff as top-notch, recorded near-90 percent of recent alumni rating treatment quality highly and 85 percent rating the food 5 out of 5, and criticised charges for incidentals down to small sums, a doctor on call rather than on site, internet restricted to a two-hour evening window, and no coffee. No manipulation was detected, but the corpus is too small to assess. Three reviews, one of them probably about a different organisation, is effectively no review record at all. That is consistent with extreme discretion. It is equally consistent with low throughput. No litigation, regulatory action, fine or licence restriction was found against the operating entity.
No tier-one feature on this clinic was located. The clinic states on its own site that it has treated nobility, politicians, chief executives and celebrities from around the world. No external corroboration exists and no client is named, so the claim is recorded as unverified. A 2024 national business feature on the Australian luxury rehab market covered a competing Byron Bay provider and did not cover this one.
None published. No award or industry recognition was found.
There is no clinic building. Clients are housed in leased private homes across Byron Bay, the Northern Rivers coast and hinterland, and into South East Queensland. The published portfolio spans subtropical beachfront, modern luxury and hinterland homestead styles, and the clinic's own photography shows pools, kitchens, media rooms, bedrooms with ensuites and balconies with ocean and forest outlooks. Each residence is the client's alone, shared only with their personal support staff. The business office is not a treatment site, and treatment addresses are not published. The strengths are real: these are genuinely high-end houses in one of Australia's most desirable coastal areas, and a client's environment can be matched to preference in a way no fixed clinic can offer. The weaknesses follow from the same fact. There is no medical infrastructure on site, no dedicated therapy or consultation room published, no gym specified, and quality is not standardised, because it varies with whichever house is leased. No accreditation and no facility licence attaches to any of these buildings, and no travel time to an emergency department can be sourced, because the residence locations are not published. No independent photograph or record of any residence was found: the clinic's own area page is built from commercial stock library images.
A genuine strength on the available evidence. Each client has a live-in personal chef for the duration of the stay, named on the team page, with dietetics and nutrition planning listed as clinical services and cooking instruction offered. Meals are prepared in the residence to the individual's plan, and the chef is part of the arrival party alongside the client-services liaison and the on-duty nurse. Allergies and preferences are accommodated, and the clinic describes guidance for weight, diabetes, heart disease and osteoporosis. Against that: no restaurant or hotel pedigree is published for the chef, no clinical dietitian is separately named as a person on the roster, dietetics being listed as a service instead, no dietary or micronutrient testing is described, and no nutrition assessment on admission or repeat measurement during the stay is published. No kitchen hygiene certification exists or could exist, because meals are cooked in leased domestic kitchens rather than a licensed commercial one.
single occupancy per residence
This is the strongest separation model in the ranking's vocabulary, and it is evidenced on the clinic's own pages. Each client occupies a residence alone, entirely their own with the company of their personal support staff. There is no group therapy and no shared facility, because there is no shared building: every element of the programme is delivered one to one in the client's own house, so therapy space, dining, pool and grounds are duplicated per residence rather than shared. Treatment addresses are unpublished, and the national health service directory lists the service at a confidential address. Travel is managed, including packing support and travel companions, and staff meet the client in an unmarked vehicle on arrival. Additional security can be arranged for well-known clients. What must not be said is one client at a time. The clinic itself does not claim it, and the advertised property portfolio across two states does not support it. Against that: no confidentiality agreement policy is published, no staff confidentiality protocol is described, and no security service is named. The distributed leased-house model creates exposure a single owned building does not, because leased homes have landlords, agents, cleaners and neighbours, and staff travel between properties. Departure arrangements are not published, and where sessions outside the residence take place is not published either. A business listing at a fixed, named office address in a small town is itself a disclosure vector, though not of any individual client.
Headline basis: Public evidenceThe headline number is the public score, not the extended score., LROAS 1.0.0, edition 2026-10-01
Public-evidence total: 44
The sum of the ten criterion scores, from 10 to 100, using evidence anyone can check, including the clinic's own pages as self-declared statements. For the licence element of C2 only, it can also use an authority ruling held in our sealed evidence room. It is the only number used for the rank.
ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: medium. ProvisionalA check was still open when the edition closed, for example a register lookup or a video not yet received, or evidence under embargo.: C10.
The clinic states that each residence is entirely the client's own, with personal support staff, and that all elements of the programme are one-to-one with no groups, which gives single occupancy per residence and no group therapy. Arrival is in an unmarked vehicle and residence addresses are not published. Band 9 also needs published departure separation, a statement of where sessions outside the residence take place and an explicit statement that clients never meet; the aftercare page describes an accompanied return home but no departure separation, so band 8 holds. No capacity figure is used and the clinic's statements on the model do not contradict each other, so no deduction applies.
ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: medium
The team page names a Clinical Director who is a physician providing clinical leadership, a Senior Medical Doctor and a Consultant Psychiatrist, and the detox programme states that doctors and nursing staff are available 24/7 with withdrawal managed in the client's residence, which meets physician cover on call and on-site withdrawal management. No licence or licence category is disclosed on the site, and the NSW Health lists of licensed private health facilities carry no entry for the residences, so the licence element is not met and band 5 is the ceiling. No escalation hospital is named by the clinic and no accreditation is claimed or found on the ACHS register.
ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: high
Three elements are met: a pre-admission telephone assessment with a senior clinician and liaison with current treating practitioners, a doctor's medical assessment and care plan at the residence on day one, and a critical review of prescription medication. Only nurse observations and the doctor's assessment are published for admission, with no laboratory panel, no psychiatrist assessment on admission and no written formulation, so the band stays at 5.
ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: medium
The published sample day carries one individual psychotherapy session among daily therapies, which meets about-daily individual contact for band 5. No session length or typical daily one-to-one figure is published, so the 1.5 hours a day needed for band 6 is not established. The team of 12 to 15 staff is not stated to serve one client at a time, and no clinician is stated to be resident beyond the nurse's first 12 to 24 hours.
ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: medium
Three continuity elements are met: the clinic's own therapists continue by conference call, recovery coaching runs by telephone for as long as the client wants, and the clinic works with referring and local practitioners before and after treatment. No written discharge plan, defined duration, price or fee inclusion, medication follow-up or readmission policy is published, which keeps the criterion at band 4.
ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: medium
A sweep of seven clinic and group domains found no ranking page, no sponsored content, no press wall or award presented as accreditation and no text addressed to AI systems; wording seen on third-party directories is not on a domain the clinic controls. No positive signal is published: prices are on request only, the referrals page says nothing about referral fees, and the offer to refer elsewhere is not stated as a policy on declining unsuitable admissions. A clean sweep with no positive signal gives band 4.
ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: low
Two elements are met: a privacy complaints route to the national information regulator and a statement of clinical limits. No price, fee inclusions, payment, refund or early-departure terms, ownership detail beyond the parent name, licence reference or records retention period is published, and no care complaints route naming the NSW Health Care Complaints Commission is given. Two elements give band 3, less 1 point because the privacy policy names Byron Luxury Healthcare Pty Ltd with ACN 621 461 563, which the Australian Business Register shows is not a valid ACN; the entity with the similar number has a cancelled ABN and the business name is registered to another company. The result is band 2.
ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: high
A court and regulator search found no final finding, judgment, licence action or regulator decision against any Sanctuary entity within 10 years, and no pending allegation. No inspection regime applies on the record, the only independent review found is unbylined, from 2015 and not based on a first-hand visit, and no verifiable independent client testimony was established. This is the not-published band 5.
ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: high
Environment and safety meets three elements, band 4: the clinic's own photographs show pools, decks and grounds, arrival staff roles including a registered nurse are named, and family may take part in parts of the programme. No dedicated therapy room or independent evidence of the premises is published, and the Byron Bay page is built from stock images. A 24-hour emergency department at Byron Central Hospital is 10 minutes by road from the town centre, but residences are unaddressed, so emergency access is not met at every place of care. Nutrition meets three elements with a personal chef cooking to the treatment plan and dietitian assessment described, capped at 5 without a named nutrition professional. The mean of 4 and 5 rounds half up to 5.
ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: medium
The team page lists 24 named people with stated credentials and no registration numbers. Three credentials are confirmed on the Ahpra register: the site Director as a psychologist with general registration, and the Senior Medical Doctor and Consultant Psychiatrist as medical practitioners with no specialist registration shown. The published name of the Clinical Director returned no register match. No gate is met and the credential index falls in the band 1 range.
ProvisionalA check was still open when the edition closed, for example a register lookup or a video not yet received, or evidence under embargo.: Clinician register lookups for this criterion were still open at the edition cut-off (see known_gaps). The points count as assessed on the evidence available; the band may change when the lookups are completed, which is resolved in a later edition.
ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: medium
The clinic publishes no price of any kind. One third-party figure circulates: a review published by The Fix on 19 May 2015 recorded AUD 140,000 a month, with its own caveat that prices may not be current. It is over a decade old, it does not come from the clinic and it counts toward no score here. That same review also recorded charges for incidental items on top of the programme fee. No payment, refund or early-departure terms are published.
Treatment residences are not published. The clinic leases private homes across Byron Bay, the Northern Rivers coast and hinterland, and into South East Queensland, and the national health service directory lists the service at a confidential address. The business office in Byron Bay is not a treatment site. Clients are met in an unmarked vehicle on arrival and taken to their residence.
Someone who wants treatment without ever meeting another client, and who can pay privately for a whole house and a personal team. The published conditions run from alcohol and drug dependence to depression, anxiety, trauma, eating disorders and sleep, and unusually the offer extends into concurrent physical illness, with internal medicine, dentistry, physiotherapy and post-operative recovery inside it. Complex medical management is stated as not suitable for anyone requiring hospitalisation or in an acute phase of their condition, and there is no published programme for psychotic disorders or severe personality disorder.
A formal telephone consultation may be scheduled with a senior clinician for a more detailed assessment, and the clinic liaises with the client's current treating practitioners before arrival. Staff can help the client pack and arrange travel, including a travel companion. On arrival the client is met by the client-services liaison, the on-duty registered nurse and their personal chef; the nurse takes basic observations and stays at least 12 to 24 hours, and a doctor attends after lunch to conduct a fuller medical assessment and establish a clinical care plan. No waiting time is published.
Recovery coaching runs by telephone for as long or as short a time as the client requires, with regular conference calls with the clinic's own therapists and referrals to practitioners in the client's local area. An aftercare support person can accompany the client home at the end of the programme. No written aftercare plan, no defined duration, no price or fee inclusion and no psychiatric or medication follow-up is published, and there is no step-down residence.