Dr Adarsh Dharendra
Consultant Psychiatrist, main location a nearby Priory hospital, also practises at The Cottage
medicine
Woking,
A Grade II listed cottage in the grounds of a working 17-bed clinic, given whole to one client at a time.
The Cottage is Priory's single-client premium annexe: a Grade II listed period cottage inside the grounds of The Grange in Old Woking, Surrey, where the whole building goes to one person. The accommodation is a queen-sized bedroom with private bathroom, a second bathroom, a lounge, a private work space, a self-contained kitchen and a secluded garden. Every aspect of treatment is delivered one to one, with no group programme in the unit, although clients may attend a group therapy programme at a nearby Priory hospital if they wish. The proposition is confidentiality plus proximity, roughly 40 minutes from central London and close to Heathrow, Gatwick and private aviation. One structural fact defines the unit: it holds no Care Quality Commission registration of its own. The provider record for Life Works Community Limited lists a single location, Life Works House, a 17-bed clinic at the same address, rated Good on all five domains. The client is alone in the cottage, not alone on the estate, and the clinical bench is shared with the main house.
No clinician is named on any Cottage page. The team page lists roles only: psychiatrists, psychotherapists and counsellors, nurses, GPs, complementary therapists, an equine therapist, fitness trainers, chefs and housekeepers, plus a lead clinician without a name. The people below appear on the group's consultant profiles, each with a main location elsewhere.
Consultant Psychiatrist, main location a nearby Priory hospital, also practises at The Cottage
medicine
Consultant Addiction Psychiatrist, main location Life Works House, also practises at The Cottage
medicine
Consultant Psychiatrist, main location Life Works House, also practises at The Cottage
medicine
Consultant Adult Psychiatrist, main location Life Works House, also practises at The Cottage
medicine
Consultant Psychiatrist, main location Life Works House, also practises at The Cottage
medicine
Addiction Programme Lead at Life Works House, also practises at The Cottage
psychology
Therapy Services Manager at Life Works House, also practises at The Cottage
psychology
Drama Therapist at Life Works House, also practises at The Cottage
allied health
Registered Dietitian at Life Works House, also practises at The Cottage
nutrition
Shiatsu Practitioner at Life Works House, also practises at The Cottage
complementary therapy
No registration number is published for anyone. The five listed psychiatrists' GMC lookups and the two allied-health HCPC lookups were all still open on 2026-09-15 because both registers refuse automated capture. No person has a stated case role, governance role or time share at this unit.
-
-
The whole cottage is allocated to one client for the stay, with a bespoke schedule delivered entirely on a one-to-one basis with a primary therapist. No group programme runs in the unit, and no session count or number of clinical hours is published. Accommodation is a queen-sized bedroom with private bathroom, plus lounge, kitchen, private work space and secluded garden.
-
No separate price is published
Cottage clients are offered the opportunity to attend a group therapy programme at a nearby Priory hospital if they wish. Whether this is taken up by default or only on request is not published, and it is the one published route by which a Cottage client would meet other clients.
Carried out during the stay
-
Personalised relapse prevention planning during the stay, outlining aftercare treatment options, support group roles and what to do in the event of a relapse, with practical guidance and support offered to loved ones. No duration, price, team continuity or psychiatric follow-up is published for the unit after discharge.
No public price found.
The Cottage has no reviews on any platform checked. There is no Google Business Profile, no Trustpilot page and no review set for the unit as a distinct entity, and the public record for it is a small set of marketing pages and a promotional video tour. The substantial review sets found at this address belong to the adjacent 17-bed clinic, not to The Cottage, and must not be presented as this unit's. One commercial directory carries a Cottage listing flagged as a duplicate or closed, which is a data-quality artefact rather than evidence of closure, since Priory's own pages are live. The registered location at this address was inspected in September 2018 and rated Good, with earlier inspections in 2016, 2014 and between 2009 and 2013, all Good, and no enforcement listed. No inspection after 2018 appears, so the most recent is about eight years old, and no inspection names The Cottage. No final regulator, court or tribunal finding was found against the operating company at this address.
The Cottage has no reviews on any platform checked. There is no Google Business Profile, no Trustpilot page and no review set for the unit as a distinct entity, and the public record for it is a small set of marketing pages and a promotional video tour. The substantial review sets found at this address belong to the adjacent 17-bed clinic, not to The Cottage, and must not be presented as this unit's. One commercial directory carries a Cottage listing flagged as a duplicate or closed, which is a data-quality artefact rather than evidence of closure, since Priory's own pages are live. The registered location at this address was inspected in September 2018 and rated Good, with earlier inspections in 2016, 2014 and between 2009 and 2013, all Good, and no enforcement listed. No inspection after 2018 appears, so the most recent is about eight years old, and no inspection names The Cottage. No final regulator, court or tribunal finding was found against the operating company at this address.
No independent press coverage of The Cottage was found: no newspaper feature, no third-party inspection write-up and no first-hand bylined reporting from inside the unit. The main circulating asset is Priory's own video tour, which is owned media.
None. No award of any kind is claimed on any Cottage page, and no award specific to the unit was found.
A Grade II listed period cottage within the grounds of The Grange, Old Woking. The unit is single occupancy: a queen-sized bed with private bathroom, two modern bathrooms in total, a lounge with media wall, a private work space, a self-contained kitchen and a secluded private garden. Pets are permitted, and a private car and chauffeur service offers collection from any UK location and transport to off-site facilities. The wider site adds a client lounge, library, gym equipment, landscaped gardens and recreational facilities, but those belong to the 17-bed clinic rather than to the cottage. The setting is suburban Surrey rather than remote: quiet and screened, with no notable views published. Access is a genuine strength, with London, Heathrow, Gatwick and private aviation within easy reach. Not published: any therapy or consultation room inside the cottage, a nearest emergency department with a road travel time, emergency equipment and training, an alcohol or medication policy, or an environmental risk assessment. The Grade II listing is claimed but the list entry was not identified, and no independent inspection or third-party photography of the building was found.
Bespoke dining is advertised and the unit has its own self-contained kitchen. Chefs appear on the team page by role and are not named. A registered dietitian holding a BSc in dietetics and nutrition and an MSc in clinical dietetics is listed by Priory with a main location at the adjacent clinic and The Cottage as an additional practice location, which is a credentialled nutrition professional attached to the unit on the clinic's own page. Against that, no nutrition assessment on admission is published, no laboratory-based plan is described, no statement says the kitchen works to a client's clinical plan, no dietary accommodations, education or monitoring during the stay is published for the unit, and no gourmet credential is claimed. The therapy page offers only nutritional support in the sense of regular nutritious meals.
single occupancy per residence
What is established: the whole cottage is allocated to one client, the accommodation is single occupancy with one bed and a private bathroom, and every aspect of treatment at the unit is delivered one to one with no group programme inside it. Nothing found contradicts single occupancy of the building, and a private chauffeur service offers collection from any UK location. What qualifies it, and this is the material finding. First, The Cottage shares one address and one set of grounds with a 17-bed group clinic, so up to 18 clients can be on the estate, along with their visitors and transport. Second, The Cottage has no regulatory registration of its own: the provider record lists a single location, the main house, so there is no regulator-level separation between the two in the public record. Third, the clinical bench is shared: every clinician Priory lists for The Cottage has a main location at the adjacent clinic or a nearby Priory hospital, with The Cottage as an additional practice location. Fourth, the therapy page offers the option of attending group therapy at a nearby Priory hospital. The correct reading is a private, exclusive-use annexe on the campus of a busy group clinic, not a standalone single-client residence. Confidentiality is stated as a key priority, but no NDA policy, pseudonym practice, security screening, separate entrance, arrival or departure separation or scheduling rule is published.
Headline basis: Public evidenceThe headline number is the public score, not the extended score., LROAS 1.0.0, edition 2026-10-01
Public-evidence total: 36
The sum of the ten criterion scores, from 10 to 100, using evidence anyone can check, including the clinic's own pages as self-declared statements. For the licence element of C2 only, it can also use an authority ruling held in our sealed evidence room. It is the only number used for the rank.
ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: medium. ProvisionalA check was still open when the edition closed, for example a register lookup or a video not yet received, or evidence under embargo.: C10.
The Cottage caters for one client at a time, with a private bedroom and bathroom, a self-contained kitchen and a secluded garden. Bands 6 and above require no group therapy anywhere in the programme, and the clinic offers optional group therapy at a nearby Priory hospital, so those bands stay closed. Band 5 would need a confidentiality measure beyond statute, and none is named. Band 4 holds because the address it shares with Life Works House has at most 18 clients on site. Differences in capacity figures between sources do not trigger a deduction.
ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: high
The registered location at this address is Life Works House, provider Life Works Community Limited, regulated for residential substance misuse services and rated Good, and its inspection summary names The Cottage as an annex of that location, so the licensing element is met. A lead clinician is referred to but never named, with no discipline, so the medical lead element is not met, and band 6 requires it. No overnight physician presence, on-site detox for Cottage clients, named escalation hospital or accreditor register entry is established, and severe conditions are listed without a defined programme.
ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: high
The admission path consists of an information pack, a complimentary initial assessment in person or by telephone to discuss needs and recommend options, and a recovery plan. The pages do not describe the initial assessment as psychiatric, medical or psychological and name no clinician, and no examination on admission, laboratory panel or written diagnostic formulation is published, so no assessment element is met.
ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: medium
Treatment is delivered one-to-one with a primary therapist, but no session count or number of hours is published. Every clinician Priory lists for The Cottage names Life Works House or a nearby Priory hospital as their main location, so the team is pooled rather than dedicated. No overnight clinical presence in the cottage and no length of stay is published, which keeps the criterion at band 3.
ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: low
One aftercare element is met: personalised relapse prevention planning during the stay, outlining aftercare options and support for loved ones. No duration, format, price or inclusion, team continuity, psychiatric follow-up or step-down is published for this unit. Twelve months of free online aftercare is published for Life Works House clients only and is not stated to apply to The Cottage, so it is not credited.
ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: medium
A sweep of the group's own domain found no page that ranks clinics, no unlabelled sponsored recognition and no content addressed to AI assistants; the robots file carries standard crawl rules only. One positive signal is credited: a weekly guidance price is published on The Cottage treatment package page. No referral-fee position and no policy of declining unsuitable admissions is published, and clients detained under the Mental Health Act are listed, so no voluntary-only admission signal applies.
ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: medium
Two transparency elements are met: ownership is disclosed and consistent with the company register, with a person holding 75 percent or more over Life Works Community Limited, and the complaints policy names an independent adjudication service as stage three. No fee inclusions, payment, refund or extension terms, licence reference, operating entity for the unit on the clinic's own pages, inspection result, retention period or statement of limits is published. The privacy notice holds retention periods on an internal intranet only. No contradiction applies.
ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: high
No final finding and no enforcement is listed against Life Works Community Limited, the registered provider at this address. The last inspection of the location, whose report published on 27 November 2018 names The Cottage annex, rated it Good, but it falls outside the 5-year and 3-year windows for inspection standing, and no first-hand reporting or independent review platform figure was found. Fines against Priory Healthcare Limited concern other Priory hospitals and a sibling entity, so they are recorded and not scored. With no finding and none of the independent signals, band 5 applies.
ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: high
C9 is the mean of a housing score of 6 and a nutrition score of 3, which is 4.5, rounded half up to 5. Housing meets five elements, including a secluded garden, named service roles with chauffeur and housekeeping, a 2018 inspection report naming the annex as a licensed-address record, and St Peter's Hospital A&E in Chertsey, open 24 hours, about 13 minutes by road, a time derived by Leading Rehabs and not published by the clinic. No therapy room, emergency equipment or medication policy is published. Nutrition credits one element only: a registered dietitian who lists The Cottage as an additional practice location, with meals otherwise described only as regular and nutritious.
ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: high
No credentialed clinician counts in the core team for this unit. The team page lists roles only, with an unnamed lead clinician, and the ten named people who list The Cottage as an additional practice location each have a main post at Life Works House or a nearby Priory hospital, with no stated case role, governance role or time share at the unit. With a core of zero, no registered credential can raise the score, whatever the register status.
ProvisionalA check was still open when the edition closed, for example a register lookup or a video not yet received, or evidence under embargo.: Clinician register lookups for this criterion were still open at the edition cut-off (see known_gaps). The points count as assessed on the evidence available; the band may change when the lookups are completed, which is resolved in a later edition.
ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: medium
Priory publishes no price for The Cottage. The captured Life Works location page publishes GBP 495 per night and GBP 6,930 for a 14-day stay, but those are the rates for Life Works House, a separate lower-cost therapy-led service at the same address, not for The Cottage. Nothing published sets out an inclusions list, deposit, payment, refund, extension or early-departure term for The Cottage, or any package length. Treatment is self-pay or corporate-funded and is not routed through insurance, even though the clinic at the same address is recognised by seven insurers.
The Grange, High Street, Old Woking, Woking, Surrey GU22 8LB, roughly 40 minutes from central London and within easy reach of Heathrow, Gatwick and private aviation. A private car and chauffeur service offers collection from any UK location. The setting is a screened, quiet suburban plot with a secluded private garden rather than open countryside. The same address houses Priory's 17-bed residential addiction clinic, which shares the grounds. No nearest emergency department or travel time is published.
People who need separation from a group treatment environment: executives, public-facing individuals and anyone for whom a shared ward or a group therapy room is impossible. Priory lists addiction and mental health presentations at the site, including acute psychiatry needs, high-dependency care and complex or dual diagnosis, as a list rather than as defined programmes. The model is one to one, with no group programme in the unit, and the client has the whole cottage for the stay. It does not suit anyone who needs a facility with its own registration or a named clinical lead.
A bespoke services co-ordinator sends an information pack, then a complimentary confidential initial assessment follows, in person at The Cottage or by telephone, to discuss needs and recommend suitable treatment options. A recovery plan is then built. The pages do not describe that assessment as psychiatric, medical or psychological, and name no clinician who conducts it. Funding is arranged privately or through a corporate agreement before admission. Because there is a single unit, availability is binary, and no waiting time is published.
Relapse prevention planning is carried out during the stay, outlining aftercare treatment options, support group roles and what to do in the event of a relapse, and practical guidance is offered to loved ones through the recovery journey. What is not published for The Cottage is the duration, format or price of aftercare, whether the same team continues, whether psychiatric review and medication management follow, or any step-down option. Twelve months of free online aftercare is published for clients of the adjacent clinic, and Priory does not state that it applies here.