Back to Find a clinic

London,

United Kingdom

PROMIS Clinics (PROMIS Recovery Centre)

A family-owned English clinic that has treated substance and behavioural compulsion inside one framework since 1986, in a twelve-client Kent farmhouse or unmarked South Kensington mews houses.

AssessedThe clinic has a full assessment in this edition: all ten criteria scored, each with its reasoning, its sources with capture dates, and the gaps we could not close.
Rank #42The clinic's position by public score in this edition.Public score 41The sum of the ten criterion scores, from 10 to 100, using evidence anyone can check, including the clinic's own pages as self-declared statements.TiedAnother clinic has the same public score and shares this rank.
Public evidenceThe headline number is the public score, not the extended score., LROAS 1.0.0, edition 2026-10-01
Public evidenceThe headline number is the public score, not the extended score. · 41

About PROMIS Clinics (PROMIS Recovery Centre)

PROMIS runs two small residential settings under one brand and one programme description: Hay Farm, a farmhouse on a twelve-acre estate near Deal in Kent, registered by the Care Quality Commission for a maximum of 12 clients, and three separately registered mews houses at Kendrick Mews in South Kensington, each a three-bedded unit. The clinic was founded in 1986 by a general practitioner on the then unusual view that alcohol, drugs, gambling, eating problems and other compulsions are one pattern and belong in a single treatment framework, and it is still family-owned. Care is formulation-led rather than manualised: daily individual therapy, group work, weekly consultant psychiatrist review, and specialist additions including equine, horticultural and cold-water therapy, followed by a twelve-month structured aftercare programme with 24 therapy days included. Group therapy is part of the programme at both settings and dining is communal, so clients meet each other daily by design. This is small-scale private clinical treatment, not a single-client product.

Assessed: The clinic has a full assessment in this edition: all ten criteria scored, each with its reasoning, its sources with capture dates, and the gaps we could not close. It does not mean every fact is confirmed. How well the evidence holds up is shown by the confidence rating. What our labels mean

Clinic overview

Founded
The clinic states 1986, founded by a general practitioner. The three current operating companies were incorporated in January 2012, so the 1986 date rests on the clinic's own account and was not confirmed on the corporate record. UnverifiedStated by the clinic, not yet confirmed by an independent source
Capacity
The regulator registers Hay Farm for a maximum of 12 clients, and registers No 4, No 11 and No 12 Kendrick Mews each as a three-bedded unit, so 21 clients across both settings with no single site above 12. The clinic publishes no capacity figure of its own.
Languages
English. No other language capability is published on the clinic's site or on either team page.
Licence
Four Care Quality Commission registrations in England, each a residential substance misuse service with regulated activities including treatment of disease, disorder or injury. Hay Farm is registered to Assini Limited for up to 12 clients; the three London houses are registered individually to Amah Limited and Aissa Limited. This is a residential clinic registration, not a hospital registration.
Accreditations
Care Quality Commission registration at all four locations, all currently rated Good. No independent clinical accreditation beyond the regulator's registration is published.
Length of stay
Minimum one week. Residential programmes typically run 14 to 90 days, followed by a twelve-month structured aftercare programme. Care is matched to clinical need rather than to a fixed package.
Address
Kendrick Mews Clinic, 2 Kendrick Mews, London, United Kingdom

Leadership

The clinic publishes a named roster on two separate team pages, one for each setting, covering medical, nursing, therapy, management and hospitality roles.

Dr Robert Lefever

Founder (1986), General Practitioner, author of the PROMIS Questionnaire

leadership

Chester Page

Registered Manager, Clinical and Compliance Manager, both settings

leadership

Lucy Britton

Manager of Admissions and Professional Relations, General Manager

leadership

Dr Pardeep Grewal

Consultant Psychiatrist, Hay Farm

medicine

Dr Filippo Passetti

Consultant Psychiatrist, Hay Farm

medicine

Dr Laimonas Goncaras

Primary Care Physician, Hay Farm

medicine

Hazel Lydon

Lead Nurse, Hay Farm, mental health nurse

nursing

Natalie Ash

Deputy Lead Nurse, Hay Farm

nursing

Chris Rowbotham

Registered Mental Health Nurse, Hay Farm

nursing

Clayton Grant

Clinical Lead and Senior Therapist, Hay Farm

therapy

Nini Leaver

Senior Therapist, Hay Farm, BACP accredited psychotherapist

therapy

Janet Hand

Senior Therapist, Hay Farm, member of BACP

therapy

Sara Pini

Senior Therapist, Hay Farm, member of BACP

therapy

Charlotte Broster

Cold Water Therapist, Hay Farm

therapy

Naomi Maxwell-Macdonald

Clinic Lead and Senior Therapist, Kendrick Mews

therapy

Veronika Rakli

Senior Therapist, Kendrick Mews, somatic body psychotherapist

therapy

Paulina Romani

Senior Therapist, Kendrick Mews

therapy

Simon Brooks

Therapist, Kendrick Mews

therapy

Rob Glaser

Therapist, Kendrick Mews

therapy

Rachel Wedge

Lead Nurse, Kendrick Mews

nursing

Rahma Osman

Deputy Lead Nurse, Kendrick Mews

nursing

Helena Kwiecien

Registered Nurse, Kendrick Mews

nursing

Mohamed Faris

Head Chef, Kendrick Mews

kitchen

No practitioner registration numbers are published for any clinician, and no medical director is named for the organisation. The clinical leads at both settings are senior therapists rather than physicians.

Treatments

Medically Supervised Detox

Typically 7 to 10 days inside the residential stay

-

Alcohol, opiate, benzodiazepine and stimulant withdrawal managed inside the residential stay. The regulator records Hay Farm as providing detoxification with a prescribing doctor, and the London houses as providing medically monitored alcohol and drug detoxification. The London houses do not admit clients for alcohol detoxification who have a history of alcohol withdrawal seizures. Read this programme alongside the 2019 regulator finding on alcohol detoxification practice at the London houses, and alongside the Good rating those houses recovered in 2020.

More →

Residential Addiction Rehabilitation, Hay Farm

14 to 90 days, minimum one week

-

The core residential programme, delivered to no more than twelve clients in a farmhouse on a twelve-acre Kent estate. Daily individual therapy, group work and weekly consultant psychiatrist review, with equine, horticultural and cold-water therapy alongside a gym, spa, art and music room and open gardens.

More →

Residential Mental Health Treatment

14 to 90 days

-

Formulation-led inpatient treatment for depression, anxiety, trauma, post-traumatic stress disorder, bipolar disorder and co-occurring presentations, using CBT, DBT, EMDR and somatic body psychotherapy, with weekly consultant psychiatrist input and medication management, in the same small-unit setting as the addiction programme.

More →

Eating Disorder Programme

Variable, typically 28 days or longer

-

Treatment for anorexia, bulimia, binge eating and compulsive overeating, with supervised meals and body-image work. The regulator names eating disorders as a specialism in the registration of No 12 Kendrick Mews, and the programme descends from the founder's single-framework model.

More →

Process and Behavioural Addiction Programme

Within the residential stay

-

Gambling, internet, gaming, sex and love, shopping and work addiction, treated on the same framework as substance dependence rather than as an adjunct. The clinic was founded on that integration in 1986 and it remains its most distinctive clinical position.

More →

Kendrick Mews Residential, London

One week to 90 days or more

-

Residential treatment in converted South Kensington mews houses with private en-suite rooms and larger suites, group and individual therapy rooms, restaurant-standard catering, housekeeping and laundry, and access to a nearby private gym and spa. Built for clients who need central London and will not leave for the countryside. Each house is registered as a three-bedded unit.

More →

Family Programme, Intervention and 12-Month Aftercare

Twelve months after discharge

Twenty-four therapy days are stated as included in every programme. No separate price is published.

A structured twelve-month aftercare programme with regular check-ins, continuing therapy, relapse-prevention review and practical support, considerably longer than the sector norm. Day care, non-residential and online care within the same operator provide step-down. A family programme, family education and a professional intervention service run alongside. The aftercare page does not state the format, and psychiatric follow-up after discharge is not published.

More →

Prices

No public price found.

Our assessment

The only independent review platform that could be read directly is Doctify, which carries 15 reviews for Hay Farm and 3 for the London clinic, all marked verified, with no owner responses and no visible negative entries. One platform with that profile is not enough for confidence in either direction. No Trustpilot listing was found, which is an absence rather than a low score. Google ratings reported for both settings reached this file only through a secondary aggregator and are not used. The regulatory record is the item that matters, and both halves of it belong here. In May 2019 the Care Quality Commission rated all three PROMIS locations at Kendrick Mews Inadequate, placed them into special measures and issued warning notices under Regulation 12 (safe care and treatment) and Regulation 17 (good governance). All three were re-rated Good across all five domains in reports published on 11 May 2020, and No 11 was reviewed again on 6 July 2023 with no evidence found requiring reassessment. Separately, Hay Farm was rated Good overall on 20 May 2019, with the Safe domain rated Requires improvement, following 2016 breaches of Regulations 12 and 17 and of the requirement for an accurate statement of purpose. A clinic that was placed into special measures and climbed back to Good across every domain within a year has shown something about its governance. What weighs against PROMIS is not the failure. It is that the clinic's own history page states that Hay Farm is rated Good and does not mention the 2019 Inadequate ratings, the special measures or the recovery.

The only independent review platform that could be read directly is Doctify, which carries 15 reviews for Hay Farm and 3 for the London clinic, all marked verified, with no owner responses and no visible negative entries. One platform with that profile is not enough for confidence in either direction. No Trustpilot listing was found, which is an absence rather than a low score. Google ratings reported for both settings reached this file only through a secondary aggregator and are not used. The regulatory record is the item that matters, and both halves of it belong here. In May 2019 the Care Quality Commission rated all three PROMIS locations at Kendrick Mews Inadequate, placed them into special measures and issued warning notices under Regulation 12 (safe care and treatment) and Regulation 17 (good governance). All three were re-rated Good across all five domains in reports published on 11 May 2020, and No 11 was reviewed again on 6 July 2023 with no evidence found requiring reassessment. Separately, Hay Farm was rated Good overall on 20 May 2019, with the Safe domain rated Requires improvement, following 2016 breaches of Regulations 12 and 17 and of the requirement for an accurate statement of purpose. A clinic that was placed into special measures and climbed back to Good across every domain within a year has shown something about its governance. What weighs against PROMIS is not the failure. It is that the clinic's own history page states that Hay Farm is rated Good and does not mention the 2019 Inadequate ratings, the special measures or the recovery.

No significant national press coverage was found. A clinic blog post dated 14 June 2026 states that Conde Nast Traveller named Hay Farm among the best mental health retreats in the United Kingdom, and that the recognition concerned setting and atmosphere rather than clinical outcomes. No link is given and the article itself could not be located, so it is recorded and not relied on.

None found. No award, ranking or industry recognition is claimed on the clinic's own pages.

Facility

Hay Farm, Ham, near Deal, Kent. A farmhouse on a twelve-acre countryside estate, registered for up to twelve clients. Private rooms with en-suite bathrooms. On site: a gymnasium, spa facilities including sauna and hot tub, a business centre, a recreation room, a dedicated art therapy and music room, group therapy spaces and large gardens. Wheelchair accessible and pet-friendly. Client collection across the United Kingdom and airport transfers are offered. The regulator recorded physical shortcomings at Hay Farm in 2019: clients could not lock their bedroom doors, there was no CCTV or security, and fire extinguishers had not been checked by a qualified engineer. The same inspection recorded improvements, including a new clinic room and working call alarms in bedrooms, and rated the location Good overall. Whether the bedroom locks were subsequently fitted is not stated by any source. Kendrick Mews, South Kensington, London SW7 3HG. Three converted mews houses at numbers 2, 4 and 12 in a single quiet cul-de-sac. Private en-suite rooms and larger suites, group and individual therapy rooms, housekeeping and laundry, and access to a nearby private gym and spa rather than in-house facilities. Local excursions are arranged. It is a converted townhouse footprint, with no grounds and no views. Both settings are small, well kept and quietly sited. Neither is palatial, and there is no pool at either.

Food

A named head chef with a twenty-five year culinary career is on the permanent staff at Kendrick Mews, and the Hay Farm team page lists a head of hospitality and kitchen with two further chefs. The chef plans the menu each day with three lunch options. The clinic describes restaurant-standard meals at both settings and states that dietary preferences and requirements are accommodated at the London site. Meal supervision and support form part of the eating disorder programme, which puts clinical structure around food rather than leaving it to catering. What is not published: no dietitian or clinical nutritionist appears on either team page, no nutrition assessment on admission is described, no personalised nutrition plan is published, and no dietary or micronutrient testing is offered. No culinary credential beyond length of career is claimed.

Privacy

one to one therapy

What genuinely protects a client here is scale rather than architecture. The units are very small, twelve in Kent and nine across three London houses, so exposure is to a handful of people rather than dozens. Every room is private with an en-suite bathroom, and London offers larger suites. The Kendrick Mews houses are unmarked residential properties in a quiet cul-de-sac and are registered with the regulator under the neutral names No 4, No 11 and No 12 rather than under a clinic name, so a public register search for the clinic in London does not obviously surface them. The Kent site sits inside its own twelve acres, and client collection across the United Kingdom avoids a public arrival. What is not established: the model is group-based. Group psychotherapy, process groups and 12-Step facilitation groups are core, dining is communal, and clients meet each other daily by design. No written no-third-party-access policy, no client-separation protocol and no non-encounter guarantee is published, and no confidentiality mechanism beyond statute is named by the clinic. Mobile phone use is permitted, which is a comfort feature and at the same time an exposure when other residents also carry phones.

Assessed 2026-10-01

Rank #42The clinic's position by public score in this edition.Public score 41The sum of the ten criterion scores, from 10 to 100, using evidence anyone can check, including the clinic's own pages as self-declared statements.TiedAnother clinic has the same public score and shares this rank.
Public evidenceThe headline number is the public score, not the extended score., LROAS 1.0.0, edition 2026-10-01
Public evidenceThe headline number is the public score, not the extended score. · 41

Headline basis: Public evidenceThe headline number is the public score, not the extended score., LROAS 1.0.0, edition 2026-10-01

Public-evidence total: 41

The sum of the ten criterion scores, from 10 to 100, using evidence anyone can check, including the clinic's own pages as self-declared statements. For the licence element of C2 only, it can also use an authority ruling held in our sealed evidence room. It is the only number used for the rank.

ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: medium. ProvisionalA check was still open when the edition closed, for example a register lookup or a video not yet received, or evidence under embargo.: C10.

C1 Client separation and occupancy · 4

Bedrooms are private and en-suite at both settings, and the regulator registers Hay Farm as a small residential service and each Kendrick Mews house as a separate small unit, which places the clinic at band 4 on the small on-site client route. Clients meet daily in group therapy and share lounges, dining, gym and therapy spaces, so the model is one-to-one therapy within a shared setting. Band 5 needs 10 or fewer clients on site and a confidentiality measure beyond statute; the privacy policy describes only statutory consent and data-protection duties. No capacity or single-occupancy claim is made, so no deduction applies.

ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: high

Sources (3 cited items):
  • cqc.org.uk: Hay Farm, provider Assini Limited, is registered as a residential substance misuse service for adults over 18, mixed gender. The 2019 inspection recorded that clients could not lock their bedroom doors and that there was no CCTV or security.
  • cqc.org.uk: No 4, No 11 and No 12 Kendrick Mews are each registered separately as a unit in a mews house in Kensington.
  • PROMIS Clinics (PROMIS Recovery Centre): The Kendrick Mews page describes private rooms, en-suite accommodation and larger suites, group and individual therapy rooms, and both one-to-one therapy and group work in a discreet South Kensington mews.
C2 Clinical governance and medical cover · 5

All four locations are registered with the Care Quality Commission as residential substance misuse services, and medically supervised withdrawal is offered at both settings. The Hay Farm team page lists two consultant psychiatrists and a primary care physician, but both clinic leads are senior therapists, so no physician is named as accountable for clinical governance. Regulator registration without a physician medical lead gives band 5, and no other element can lift it without that lead. Overnight cover is by nurses at Hay Farm only, no named hospital escalation route is published for residents and no accreditation was found.

ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: high

Sources (9 cited items):
  • cqc.org.uk: All four locations are registered as residential substance misuse services with regulated activities including treatment of disease, disorder or injury and substance misuse problem services.
  • PROMIS Clinics (PROMIS Recovery Centre): The Hay Farm team page lists two consultant psychiatrists and a primary care physician, and the clinical lead is a senior therapist. The Kendrick Mews team page lists no physician and its clinic lead is a senior therapist.
  • PROMIS Clinics (PROMIS Recovery Centre): The homepage states weekly psychiatric input throughout treatment and medically supervised withdrawal as the first step. Hay Farm states 24-hour nursing and care staff; no 24-hour physician or psychiatrist cover is stated for either setting.
  • JCI accredited organizations list: Search of JCI accredited organizations list. Scope: register entry for the clinic or its operator (accreditation). Result: source unreachable at time of search: HTTP 403 on fetch.
  • BACP accredited services directory: Search of BACP accredited services directory. Scope: register entry for the clinic or its operator (accreditation). Result: no record found.
  • CQC location page Hay Farm: Search of CQC location page Hay Farm. Scope: register entry for the clinic or its operator (licence class). Result: record found.
  • CQC location page No 4: Search of CQC location page No 4. Scope: register entry for the clinic or its operator (licence class). Result: record found.
  • CQC location page No 12: Search of CQC location page No 12. Scope: register entry for the clinic or its operator (licence class). Result: record found.
  • CQC location page No 11: Search of CQC location page No 11. Scope: register entry for the clinic or its operator (licence class). Result: record found.
C3 Diagnostic depth on admission · 4

The assessment programme page describes a clinical assessment covering substance use, withdrawal risk, mental and physical health, medication and family context before a pathway is recommended, and the regulator records a prescribing doctor at Hay Farm and comprehensive assessment at the London houses. These two elements give band 4. Psychiatric assessment on admission, a laboratory panel, a physician physical examination and a written diagnostic formulation are not published, and the withdrawal-monitoring scale used during detox is not a diagnostic work-up.

ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: high

Known gapsFacts the assessment needed but could not establish.:
  • The 2019 Hay Farm inspection recorded medicine transcription without full doctor authorisation; later practice is not documented by a newer inspection.
Sources (3 cited items):
  • PROMIS Clinics (PROMIS Recovery Centre): The assessment programme page states that assessment considers substance use, withdrawal risk, mental health, physical health, medication, family context and practical needs before a pathway is recommended. No duration, report or named assessor is given.
  • cqc.org.uk: Hay Farm has a prescribing doctor. The 2019 report records medicine transcription onto prescription charts without full doctor authorisation.
  • cqc.org.uk: A comprehensive assessment is recorded for the London houses; physical health checks and blood tests are not specified in the regulator's summary.
C4 Clinical intensity · 5

The homepage states individual therapy sessions every day, which counts as five or more one-to-one sessions a week and gives band 5. No hours figure or session length is published, the clinical team is pooled across each setting's clients, and 24-hour staffing is stated for Hay Farm only, so band 6 is not reached.

ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: medium

Sources (3 cited items):
C5 Continuity and aftercare · 7

The homepage and FAQ state twelve months of structured aftercare with 24 therapy days included in every programme and delivered by the same operator, with a personalised plan before discharge and step-down through day and non-residential care. The regulator recorded that staff planned and managed discharge well. Six elements including the included-fee element are met, which gives band 7. No delivery format, psychiatric follow-up after discharge or family work after discharge is published.

ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: medium

Sources (3 cited items):
  • PROMIS Clinics (PROMIS Recovery Centre): Twelve months of structured aftercare to protect long-term recovery, with 24 therapy days included in every programme.
  • PROMIS Clinics (PROMIS Recovery Centre): The aftercare page describes regular check-ins, therapy sessions, relapse prevention work and practical support, with plans built around the client's needs. No duration, format, price or team is stated on that page.
  • cqc.org.uk: Staff planned and managed discharge well and had alternative pathways for people whose needs the service could not meet.
C6 Admission integrity and commercial conduct · 5

A sweep of the clinic's domains found no self-ranking, no paid recognition presented as independent and no assistant-directed content; the page titled Best Private Mental Health Hospitals in the UK states it is not a ranking, leaves the clinic off and discloses a partnership. One positive signal counts: the assessment programme page states the clinic will say so if another service is more suitable. With a clean sweep and one positive signal the score is band 5. Price is on request after assessment and no referral-fee or voluntary-admission position is published.

ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: medium

Sources (4 cited items):
  • PROMIS Clinics (PROMIS Recovery Centre): The assessment programme page states that if another service is more suitable, the clinic will say so.
  • PROMIS Clinics (PROMIS Recovery Centre): A page titled Best Private Mental Health Hospitals in the UK states that it is not a ranking, names five other hospitals, says none paid to be listed, leaves the clinic itself off the list and discloses a clinical partnership with one of them.
  • PROMIS Clinics (PROMIS Recovery Centre): The referrers page carries no statement on referral fees or commissions, and the intervention page says nothing on consent, refusal or voluntary admission.
  • clinic and group domains, web search: Search of clinic and group domains, web search. Scope: domains checked promis.co.uk (homepage, why-us, services, clinic, team, assessment, FAQ, complaints, privacy, history, referrers, intervention, regional location page for Birmingham, blog pages including the pricing guide, the Condé Nast blog post and "Best Private Mental Health Hospitals in the.... Result: sweep recorded; outcome per the C6 V elements.
C7 Transparency toward the client · 4

The complaints procedure gives response times and escalation to the Local Government and Social Care Ombudsman and the regulator, the clinic publishes its inspection history, and the family ownership stated by the clinic matches Companies House records for the three operating companies and their parent. Three elements are met, which gives band 4. No fee inclusions, payment, refund or early-departure terms, no company name or number on the site, no register link for the registration and no retention period for health records are published.

ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: high

Sources (3 cited items):
  • PROMIS Clinics (PROMIS Recovery Centre): The complaints procedure gives acknowledgement within one week, a response within 28 days, escalation to the Local Government and Social Care Ombudsman, and regulator contact details. No company number is shown.
  • find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk: The three registered providers, Assini Limited 07925197, Amah Limited 07917011 and Aissa Limited 07917068, all incorporated in January 2012, are each more than 75 percent owned by P.R.A.C. Ltd 07916037, whose two persons with significant control are members of the founding family. This is consistent with the clinic's family-ownership statement.
  • PROMIS Clinics (PROMIS Recovery Centre): The privacy policy names the clinic at both addresses as controller but no legal entity, and gives no retention period for client health records. The contact page shows no company registration number and no register link.
C8 Track record and regulator standing · 3

After the May 2019 inspections the Care Quality Commission rated the three Kendrick Mews houses Inadequate, placed them in special measures and issued warning notices under Regulations 12 and 17 to the operating companies. This is a serious finding about 7 years old, within the 5 to 10 year window. The houses were rated Good in reports published 11 May 2020, but no location has been inspected in the last three years, so no recent good inspection follows the finding and the score is band 3. Hay Farm's 2016 breaches fall outside the 10-year window and have no effect.

ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: high

Known gapsFacts the assessment needed but could not establish.:
  • The regulator news release on the three locations returned HTTP 403; the finding rests on the regulator location pages.
  • A new regulator inspection graded Good or better would likely raise this score to band 4.
  • The element reading for this criterion is not published as a list; the band is explained in the reasoning.
Sources (13 cited items):
  • cqc.org.uk: No 11 was rated Inadequate overall after the May 2019 inspection, placed into special measures and issued two warning notices under Regulations 12 and 17, then removed from special measures and rated Good in a report published 11 May 2020.
  • cqc.org.uk: Hay Farm is rated Good overall with the Safe domain rated Requires improvement, last rated 20 May 2019, following 2016 breaches of Regulation 12, Regulation 17 and the requirement for an accurate statement of purpose.
  • doctify.com: Doctify records 4.93 from 15 reviews marked verified for Hay Farm, dated March 2025 to January 2026, and 5.0 from 3 reviews for the London clinic, with no practice replies seen on either.
  • CQC location page Hay Farm: Search of CQC location page Hay Farm. Scope: register entry for the clinic or its operator (last inspection). Result: record found.
  • CQC location page No 4: Search of CQC location page No 4. Scope: register entry for the clinic or its operator (last inspection). Result: record found.
  • CQC location page No 12: Search of CQC location page No 12. Scope: register entry for the clinic or its operator (last inspection). Result: record found.
  • CQC location page No 11: Search of CQC location page No 11. Scope: register entry for the clinic or its operator (last inspection). Result: record found.
  • general web search: Search of a general web search engine. Scope: PROMIS Kendrick Mews CQC warning notice special measures inadequate 2019. Result: record found: CQC inspections in May 2019 of the London locations No 11 Kendrick Mews (provider Aissa Limited) and No 4 and No 12 Kendrick Mews (provider Amah Limited) rated them Inadequate and placed them in....
  • Find Case Law: Search of Find Case Law. Scope: "Amah Limited" OR "Aissa Limited" OR "Assini Limited" OR PROMIS. Result: record found: CQC inspections in May 2019 of the London locations No 11 Kendrick Mews (provider Aissa Limited) and No 4 and No 12 Kendrick Mews (provider Amah Limited) rated them Inadequate and placed them in....
  • general web search: Search of a general web search engine. Scope: "PROMIS" rehab Kent OR London clinic court ruling OR tribunal OR sued OR fined. Result: record found: CQC inspections in May 2019 of the London locations No 11 Kendrick Mews (provider Aissa Limited) and No 4 and No 12 Kendrick Mews (provider Amah Limited) rated them Inadequate and placed them in....
  • CQC: Search of CQC. Scope: location pages 1-506886543, 1-12539142155, 1-12725303518. Result: record found: CQC inspections in May 2019 of the London locations No 11 Kendrick Mews (provider Aissa Limited) and No 4 and No 12 Kendrick Mews (provider Amah Limited) rated them Inadequate and placed them in....
  • press and news search: Search of press and news search. Scope: first-hand bylined reporting from inside the facility, last 5 years. Result: no record found.
  • statutory regulator records: Search of statutory regulator records. Scope: inspection history and grades of this site. Result: record found: Hay Farm rated Good overall, with Safe rated Requires improvement, in the report dated 20 May 2019 (earlier inspections June 2016 and October 2017). The 2019 Hay Farm report records bedroom doors....
C9 Environment, safety and nutrition · 3

Hay Farm publishes gym, sauna, gardens and therapy spaces, clinical sessions take place on site at both settings and named residence staff are published; the house component is band 4. The Chelsea and Westminster Hospital emergency department is about 5 minutes by road from Kendrick Mews, but no verified route is available for Hay Farm, so the emergency route element is not met for the clinic as a whole. No nutrition professional is named and nutrition is limited to stated meals, so the nutrition component is band 2, and the mean rounds to band 3.

ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: high

Known gapsFacts the assessment needed but could not establish.:
  • A verified Hay Farm emergency route within 30 minutes would likely raise this score to band 4.
  • The regulator recorded no system to raise an alarm from the London clinic room; no later inspection confirms a change.
Sources (3 cited items):
  • PROMIS Clinics (PROMIS Recovery Centre): Hay Farm publishes restaurant-quality meals with nutritional support, a gym, sauna and hot tub, gardens and outdoor recreation, art, music, mindfulness and group therapy spaces, and 24-hour nursing and care staff.
  • cqc.org.uk: The London houses are registered at 4, 2 and 12 Kendrick Mews, London SW7 3HG. The regulator recorded that staff had no system to raise an alarm from within the clinic room in an emergency.
  • PROMIS Clinics (PROMIS Recovery Centre): The Hay Farm team page names an operations manager, a head of housekeeping, housekeepers, a head of maintenance, a head of hospitality and kitchen and chefs, with the chef planning the menu each day with three lunch options. No dietitian or nutritionist is named on either team page.
C10 Clinical seniority and academic standing · 1

The two team pages name 39 people, 27 of them in clinical or governance roles, and three senior therapists are confirmed on the BACP Register. No person in a core clinical or governance role holds a counted credential: the medical register and nursing register lookups could not be completed, and no registration numbers or university appointments are published. The non-core cap leaves the seniority score at zero, so the score is band 1.

ProvisionalA check was still open when the edition closed, for example a register lookup or a video not yet received, or evidence under embargo.: Clinician register lookups for this criterion were still open at the edition cut-off (see known_gaps). The points count as assessed on the evidence available; the band may change when the lookups are completed, which is resolved in a later edition.

ConfidenceHow well the evidence supports the score.: medium

Known gapsFacts the assessment needed but could not establish.:
  • Three GMC and six NMC lookups were not complete at publication; the C10 band may change when they are completed.
Sources (3 cited items):
  • bacp.co.uk: Register lookups on 2026-09-15 confirmed three senior therapists on the BACP Register, one as an accredited registered member and two as registered members.
  • gmc-uk.org: The medical register could not be read on 2026-09-15 (HTTP 403), so the two consultant psychiatrists and the primary care physician are held at the physician tier pending that read. The nursing register could not be read either: its search form raised an image challenge on submit on 2026-09-16, so all six nursing lines are routed to a person.
  • PROMIS Clinics (PROMIS Recovery Centre): The two team pages carry 42 named entries, 39 distinct people, of whom 27 hold a clinical, clinical-lead or clinical-governance role. No registration number, university appointment or specialist board verification page is published for any of them, and no scientific or advisory board is named.

Frequently asked questions

What does treatment at PROMIS cost?

The clinic publishes no price and says so openly. It states that it does not quote a flat price online, and that a clinical assessment establishes the level of care needed, with the fee following from that. Expect to complete an assessment before receiving a quote. No fee inclusions, deposit, refund or early-departure terms are published either. No insurer arrangements appear anywhere on the site, so plan on private payment by enquiry.

Where are the clinics?

Two settings. Hay Farm is a farmhouse on a twelve-acre estate at Hay Lane, Ham, near Deal, Kent CT14 0EE, rural and close to the Kent coast. The London clinic is at Kendrick Mews in South Kensington, SW7 3HG, a quiet cul-de-sac of converted mews houses registered with the regulator as No 4, No 11 and No 12. Clients can be collected anywhere in the United Kingdom and airport transfers are offered. Neither site has a pool.

Who is PROMIS designed for?

People who want small-unit private residential treatment rather than an institution, and who need addiction, mental health, eating disorder or behavioural compulsion treated inside one framework. The clinic has done exactly that since 1986. It works for clients who want either central London convenience or rural seclusion. It is not built as a discretion product for a single client: care is group-based, so residents meet each other every day. If a no-contact guarantee is the requirement, this is the wrong clinic.

How does admission work and how fast is it?

Admission starts with a clinical assessment covering substance use, withdrawal risk, mental health, physical health, medication, family context and practical needs, from which a pathway is recommended and the fee follows. The clinic states that it can admit within 24 to 48 hours and that it will say so if another service is a better fit. Client collection is offered across the United Kingdom. Minimum stay is one week and residential programmes typically run 14 to 90 days. The London houses do not admit clients for alcohol detoxification who have a history of alcohol withdrawal seizures.

What happens after discharge?

A twelve-month structured aftercare programme with 24 therapy days included in every programme, considerably longer than the sector norm, covering regular check-ins, therapy sessions, relapse prevention work and practical support. Day care, non-residential and online care within the same operator give a graded step-down. A family programme and family education run alongside, on the founding view that compulsion is a family pattern, and a professional intervention service is available. The aftercare page does not state the format, and psychiatric review or medication management after discharge is not published.

Website